History of ADGC
Founded in 1935 Ashby Decoy Golf Club has developed into a superb 18 hole golf course. Rich in local wildlife, the course provides a great challenge for golfers at all levels and is one of the leading courses in the region.
The Golf Club was founded in 1935 on agricultural land of sandy sub-soil nature, by leasing 70 acres from the Ashby Decoy farming estate to provide 9 holes for 27 founder members.
Since 1937, the land has been held by a limited company; a company formed for the purpose of securing that golf would continue to be played on this land. By 1947 the whole estate of 150 acres had been purchased and 18 holes established.
The estate house and outbuildings housed the golfing facilities. Part of the estate, 4 acres, comprised established woodland and a duck decoy with four pipes dating back to the late 1890’s. The Decoy was re-established in 1996 and now provides the irrigation water for the fairways and greens, together with natural wild and pond life. The original estate house was raised to the ground in 1970 and the present clubhouse and amenities provided.
In 2017 we undertook a major refurbishment of our main lounge, resulting in a modern, bright and spacious lounge with floor to ceiling windows which look onto the golf course.
We still carry out the once 'unique morning draw', having been in use since 1948. At the time, this was not known to occur in any other golf establishment, and has long been admired. This is where all participants have their names put in the ‘hat’ and a totally random draw for partners is made, to suit the day’s competition. This has the effect of mixing all club members together – regardless of handicap – with the result that everyone knows everyone else. This format still exists at Ashby Decoy today.